HTC HD2 Hands-on Review

Almost every gadget manufacturer is making touchscreens larger but HTC took it to a new step. HD2 features a whooping large screen (4.3 inches WVGA 480×800 pixels), among the largest one would find on cellphones. [Motorola Droid features similar resolution] Uniqueness, another attraction of the screen is capacitive touchscreen, in fact first Windows mobile running Capacitive touchscreen, meaning we finally get pinch and zoom capability on this OS.

Overall Feel

The phone, looks large, but is actually not that bad to hold in the hand, thanks to pocket-friendly dimensions of 120.5x 67×11 mm.

HTC HD2 vs. iPhone

The phone is smooth and rubberized on the back, and feels nice to hold. It slips nicely into the pocket as well, thanks to slim design with 0.43 inches  thickness.

Specs

On the Technical side, Phone is powered by Qualcomm’s 1GHz Snapdragon mobile processor, the same that powers Sony Ericsson X10, X3.  Like HTC Hero, it also offers an HTC Sense user experience but on Windows Mobile 6.5 instead of Android. Other Specs include, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth 2.1, a 5-megapixel camera with Flash, a 3.5 mm headphone jack.

Multitouch, Apps & User Interace

Powered by a good 1Ghz processor, I expected it to do good with UI and Multitouch. And I must admit, I was deeply impressed. Opening applications was delight, they opened quickly, unlike other Windows Mobile 6.5 devices.HTC hd2 The UI is amazing, especially the weather app. Photos loads quickly and is very responsive.  The Opera browser comes inbuilt that replace dirty Mobile IE. As a result,  websites rendered well and were available to scroll around, and pinching and zooming reacted almost instantly, this proves the capacitive touchscreen was a great decision by HTC. The experience is very similar to that of iPhone. But, because of a larger display, I might actually endup rating it better than iPhone.

Websites actually looked glorious on the phone. And the good part, it supports Flash. The HTC Sense UI experience is far better than HTC Hero. It’s now more realistic and smoother multitouch. Apps like Facebook, Weather, outlook, blah are integrated well and works like charm.

Here are few Videos from Other Sources that will give you better idea:

Verdict:

Personally, I have never liked Windows Mobile phones unless they are powerful. This one is indeed top of the line, with rich set o features and possibly the best Windows Mobile Phone ever created. this Phone Proves that HTC has ripped off bad parts of windows Mobile and replaced them with custom solutions with touchFlow and SenseUI. Overall, we’re very impressed especially with the great Visuals, UI, High resolution, large Display that does multitouch too. How Does it compare to Motorola Droid vs. iPhone? We will compare 3 of them soon.

HTC HD2 is already Launched in Europe, Asia, and and US too.

I would highly recommend one.

Don’t forget to subscribe to us below:

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Related Posts

Bookmark and Promote!

  • Hi Taranfx,
    Thank you for the valuable info and a good review too. It Looks Cool And i like it very much…AweSome

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • I do not see in HTC HD2 stylus. Why not have it. With him is much better to use a different program

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • I do not see in HTC HD2 stylus. Why not have it. With him is much better to use a different program

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: Snapdragon 1.5Ghz DualCore()

  • Natalie

    hi i was told that the htc hd2 can pick up viruses easily as your connecting it to windows computer which may contain viruses is this TRUE? many thanks

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • nic

      the same can be said about iphone as there are a plethora of viruses available for macs now as you have noticed they have stopped asserting that they are better do to not having viruses like PCs in all of their recent ads

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
    • nic

      the same can be said about iphone as there are a plethora of viruses available for macs now as you have noticed they have stopped asserting that they are better do to not having viruses like PCs in all of their recent ads

      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
      VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
      Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • Pingback: No Upgrade for Mobile 6.5 to Windows Phone 7()

  • Pingback: HTC EVO 4G Android [Specs]()

  • Pingback: Windows Phone 7 Architecture()

  • great review. the hd2 is a really nice unlocked phone. i got mine at gsmauthority.com. some people complain about the large touch screen but i really like it. it works well when i take pictures or videos or for playing games. it also makes texting and navigating much easier. htc has really been progressing in the phone world lately.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
  • The HD2 is a magnificent monster. It is a hulking, intimidating, massive
    slab of a gadget. If you think the device looks big in photos, it’s
    nothing compared to how it seems up close. Yes, the HD2 is large — some
    might say too large — almost less a phone and more a tablet. We don’t
    happen to fall into the camp that has complaints about a device of this
    size (the whole thing measures 4.74-inches up and down by 2.64-inches
    across), in fact, we love the bulk and surface area of the HD2.

    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0.0/5 (0 votes cast)
    VA:F [1.9.22_1171]
    Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
© 2016 Geeknizer. All rights reserved. XHTML / CSS Valid.
Designed by taranfx.